Go Back   Maxum Boat Owners Club - Forum > Maxum General > Maxum Owners General Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-25-2024, 08:55 PM   #1
Ensign

Default Motor Tilts up but not down

Hi All-

Newbie here. I bought an old Maxum 2300 SCR and am beginning the huge task of learning what the hell I'm doing so that I can get it out on the water. It's way too much boat for a first time owner. I'm in way over my head. I'm not giving up.

It has a stern drive Mercruiser Alpha One V8 5.7 L.
Click image for larger version

Name:	motor profile.png
Views:	4
Size:	1.05 MB
ID:	8162

Name:	motor rear.png
Views:	3
Size:	1.23 MB
ID:	8163

I've managed to search this forum for all my problems so far, but today I'm stuck.

I'm trying to lower the motor to run it for a while so that I can change the oil. The main problem is that it won't tilt down, but while I'm here maybe I can fire off a few questions:

1) What is trim/tilt: The way I understand trim and tilt is that they both raise/lower the motor. The tilt loosely speaking raises it in and out of the water and the trim adjusts the angle of propulsion. Some boats have a trailer button that takes the place of what are the tilt buttons on my boat. If mine were currently all the way up and I wanted to take the boat out on the water, I'd have to first lower the tilt all the way down first to get the motor in the water, then further adjust the angle with the trim. That all sound right?

Name:	throttle.png
Views:	4
Size:	708.6 KB
ID:	8164

Name:	gauges.png
Size:	1.02 MB
ID:	8165